privacy

My mother just asked for the link to this blog, something that I haven’t shared with anyone, even SA’s headmaster.  While the headmaster and I discuss and make decisions together, he’s not really into blogs.  Go figure.  Apparently, it’s a girl thing.

So, why is this blog a secret? 

I feel the need to prepare myself for this journey, make decisions about planning, curriculum, schedules, participation in homeschooling networks, etc. without the direct influence and opinions of others, and to let things settle in my mind before I share it all with anyone. 

“But Mary kept all these things, and pondered them in her heart.”

Please know that I hesitated to use this quote, because of the sacred nature of the event referenced.  I am by no means Mary, but I am a mother.  I do believe that I receive revelation for the welfare and future of my family.  I keep those things close inside.

I think deciding to withdraw our children from the public school system to homeschool is a lightening rod topic.  Very few people have mediocre feelings and opinions about homeschooling.  You’re either hot or cold, in or out, open to it or closed.  At this time, I really don’t want to know how people I care about feel about this decision. In fact out of all our relationships and acquaintances, only a handful of family members and friends know that we’re homeschooling the children this fall. (Oh yes, and of course my massive online readership.)  There are things that the headmaster and I are still pondering in our hearts.  I’m not ready to share them yet.

scriptural reference from Luke 2:19 KJV

About sarah at sutton academy

I teach and co-administrate at Sutton Academy with my husband. We love the students as if they were our own, because they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to privacy

  1. rebecca says:

    This is great! I just started a blog and I have mixed feeling about receiving comments and such, I think your article explains a bit of how I am feeling. I started homeschooling 2 years ago (taking my 8 year old out of school~we decided sometime during the end of winter and waited for the school year to end~it was a long wait). I have been slowly figuring out how to do this and still keep my head above water in the other areas of my life. The decision to homeschool has led me to a path I believe I was meant for. My son LOVES it and I KNOW we are doing the right thing. You can do this!

Leave a Reply

